J’adorais attends its first fashion tradefair @ Premiere, Sydney

Last week Sydney hosted Premiere, a biannual trade fair showcasing a carefully selected collection of local and international brands offering exclusive higher end fashion.   My sister and I had the pleasure of attending the event, where we were able to preview the latest collections of local Australian and international designers, including American, Brazilian, Canadian, Danish, French, Italian and Spanish designers.  As I am planning to start my own online boutique, I was quite keen to scope out the process designers go through to showcase their products and buyers go to select their next seasons’ product range.

I had registered for the event a few weeks before, registering myself (future online retail owner) and my sister (Stylist/ Editor).   Did I mention my sister is an editor of a beautiful French magazine, Peut-Etre http://www.peutetremagazine.com and has a great fashion blog http://brigadeirochoc.blogspot.com.au? Anyway, she’s brilliant, and I was so excited she happened to be in town at the time of the fair and we were able to explore the event together.  We even had our business cards printed so we could start giving our contact details to the designers & sales reps in the trade fair. 🙂

It was very interesting to see how the designers showcased their collections, and after introducing myself to a few of the designers and their sales representatives, I was able to gage their interest in my venture, some of them offering to post me their lookbooks and price catalogues.

I was impressed to see a good presence of Brazilian designers (including Osklen, Totem, Cantao).  Being from Brazil, it’s always been a dream of mine to bring the beautiful colours and creative designs from Brazil and showcase it to the world – watch this space! 😉

There were also other large established international brands including Desigual (Spain), J Brand (American), Rebecca Taylor (American), True Religion (American) and Just Cavalli (Italy).  I must say that although it was a great experience to see what a fashion tradefair is about, both my sister and I were a little disappointed by the collections being displayed.   I guess we were expecting to see more bold and unique designs being showcased.

We also attended a very interesting seminar “Making the move – what to consider when taking your retail store online”, presented by Andy Jamieson from Switched on Media.  He definitely gave some great tips and insights that I will be considering when starting up the online website.   Key areas to consider: 1. Platform, 2. Marketing, 3. Customer Service, 4. Data, 5. Speed to Market.  Lots of things to think about!!

We only did a quick browse of the tradefair as we had another appointment in the afternoon, I am hoping that next time we attend the next Fashion tradefair Jadorais online will be up and running and we can start talking serious business with the designers.

Ok, what does one wear to a fashion tradefair?  Something casual yet comfortable, I wore a Robert Rodriguez silk top with black embroidered flowers, scanlan & theodore leather jacket, sass & bide jeans, scanlan & theodore heels and Burberry leather tote bag.

I’m also carrying the Premiere visitors bag, unfortunately there were no freebies – and silly me only saw afterwards that I could have gone on in draw for $1k towards my next order – oh well, there’s always next time!

Premiere, 11th – 13th March, Royal Hall of Industries, Sydney

One thought on “J’adorais attends its first fashion tradefair @ Premiere, Sydney

  1. There IS always next time and I look forward to seeing ‘where to from here’ – lookin’ good stylish lady!

    You are just the right person in just the right space and I look forward to seeing it all happen 🙂
    xx
    Judy

Leave a Reply

