Bargain shopping in HK

Those of you who read my last post on the luxury shopping Mecca that is HK, will know that shopping for international designer products here is not cheap, it seems dearer than luxury shopping in UK/ Europe.. that is unless you do some research on all the secret places they β€˜hide’ their shopping outlets!!

So of course, I did my research prior to travelling to HK (my Chinese heritage makes me a big bargain shopper, I don’t like to shop without at least a little bit of discount! πŸ˜‰ and had discovered all the secret places for the designer outlets hidden in every corner of this little island.
Finding the shopping outlets here is a bit like a treasure hunt, thank goodness for the internet – it provides you with the β€œtreasure map” but you still have to make your way there!!
So here are the top 3 places I’d recommend to go outlet shopping in HK:

1. Horizon Plaza – all the most famous brands grouped in one building. It is in the middle of nowhere!
Β I would recommend catching a taxi there or you would have no hope in finding this place. I actually went to SPACE (Miu Miu/ Prada outlet first) – I’ll tell you more about that next, but at least if you go to Horizon Plaza, the SPACE outlet is within walking distance.
Located in an old industrial building in Ap Lei Chau Aberdeen. Apparently they have fashion and accessories that are discounted up to 90% of the original price (I found some good discounts probably around up to 60% – 70% off).
There are so many floors to check out, so I would say the floors worth visiting are:
27th Floor (Max Mara, Club Monaco and Juicy Couture, Diesel, Marni) – I bought some lovely Vivienne Westwood unisex ties (that ended up being presents for my lucky sisters.. πŸ˜‰
25th Floor (Lane Crawford) – this is quite a large space they have filled with womenswear, bags, shoes, jewellery, menswear. You could spend a while trolling through their stuff (there is quite a lot), but there were beautiful pieces by all your dream luxury designers like Lanvin, Chloe, Alberta Ferreti at a fraction of the price. The lovely sister that I am I bought my sister a beautiful pair of Costume National Sandals. I got my other sister a funky necklace by Boom.


22nd Floor (Armani)
21st Floor (Joyce) – also jampacked with beautiful designers including McQueen, Rodarte Galliano, Rei Kawakubo (Comme des Garcons) – but unfortunately I found it was still quite pricey after it was reduced.
19th Floor – Fairton, Bluebell, Replay, Imaginex, Fairton had a good collection of designer clothing and shoes (including Costume National, Fratelli Rossetti, Galliano, GF Ferre, Jean-Paul Gaultier, Just Cavalli, Kookai and Lloyd) I bought some beautiful over the knee high leather boots from Fairton – I nice collection of shoes.

5th Floor (IT Outlet) – IT do stock a lot of funky designers (whose names I’m not that familiar with) but I saved myself to the bigger luxury brands.
You could definitely get lost here with all the options of designers! You do need to be a good shopper with a good eye, as they stock both more recent past collections as well as very old collections. But I’m sure you’d find a good bargain in some of the stores, just be sure you have enough hands to carry the bags all the way home!! πŸ˜‰ and leave some space for the next stop, which is SPACE. If you are going to Horizon Plaza, make sure you ask directions on how to get to SPACE. It is definitely within walking distance (I walked there with my poor little son in the pram.. poor baby, after a week of being my shopping partner I think he definitely got shopped out! πŸ˜‰

2. SPACE

(Me and my then 8 month old shopping partner ;))
For the Prada and Miu Miu lovers… this is a MUST!!! I L-O-V-E Miu Miu bags.. and of course Miuccia Prada’s designs.. Their outlet store is actually very nicely set up – it could almost pass for a flagship store! I must say for an outlet I was impressed at how beautifully they designed the store layout. All the products were well displayed, visual merchandising and service was just like being at a flagship rather than an outlet. The stock carried was also quite good, just one season old. And with Miu Miu and Prada wallets, bags and shoes a lot of the designs are timeless. You could find wallets from around 2500HKD (around $300), bags ranged from about 7000HKD.

Now I’ve saved the best to last..
3. City Gate Outlets

Again, this is a fair way away, but you can catch a train to City Gate from HK Central in 35 minutes. It is actually closer to the HK airport, and if you happen to be visiting Ngong Ping 360 (one of the tourist sites), the outlet is right by the train terminal when you arrive in Ngong Ping.
Alfred Dunhill, AlX Armani Exchange Outlet, Anteprima Outlet, Aquascutum, Bally, Brooks Brothers, Factory Store, Burberry, Callaway Outlet, Calvin Klein Jeans, Calvin Klein Underwear, Cerruti 1881, Club 21 Outlet (ck Calvin Klein, DKNY), Club Monaco Studio, DAKS, DIANE von FURSTENBERG, Dickson Outlet, D’urban, ESCADA, Esprit Outlet, Gieves & Hawkes, Giordano Outlet, Guess Outlet, HOM Outlet, I.T Outlet, Kent and Curwen, Kinji Design Accessories Outlet, Kookai Outlet,Laura Ashley Outlet, Levi’s Outlet, MANGO Outlet, Max & Co., Max Mara Fashion Group, Moiselle Outlet
Nautica Outlet, Polo Ralph Lauren Factory Store, Seven7 Outlet, Tommy Hilfiger, Vivienne Tam Outlet.
You won’t believe it, but the loyal ex-Burberry employee in me (after having been away from my staff discounts at Burberry) went crazy at the Burberry outlet store. They had beautiful jewellery, clothing and shoes ridiculously reduced, it was cheaper than going to the factory outlet in London’s Hackney. I went crazy shopping at the Burberry outlet, buying lots of beautiful jewellery, shoes and bags.
Some of my Burberry purchases.. wooden beaded embossed necklace (my son loves playing with it – it looks like chocolate! πŸ˜‰ And below.. Burberry patent leather boots..

They also have a lot of other home and beauty stores, and a good selection on Childrenswear outlets including Chickeeduck Outlet, Club 21 Outlet (DKNY kids), Kingkow Outlet, La Compagnie Des Petits Outlet, Mides Outlet, Polo Ralph Lauren Factory Store. I bought my son some gorgeous little outfits from the Chickeeduck store.
Well, needless to say I came back from HK with a suitcase full of beautiful designer items.. all at a great bargain price! Oh how I love a good bargain!! πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Bargain shopping in HK

    • Citygate! Is easier to go there. You can catch train from hongkong station to tung Chung. You won’t get lost. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

